Cart 0
  • Your cart is currently empty.
Unraveling the Mystery of Tassel Malas

Unraveling the Mystery of Tassel Malas

For the yogi, religious, or simply a fan of meditation, a tassel is an important part of their mala necklace. The mala’s tassel offers functional as well as spiritual importance. The shade or hue of the mala tassel can bear a vital psychological and spiritual effect to the wearer. 

Every mala’s tassel offers functional and spiritual importance while every shade is a vital bearer of psychological and spiritual effects to the yogi. Here is a guide to finding the perfect tassel to match your mala.

History and the Tassel's Symbolism

Historically, the tassel has worked as a talisman and is used as a sign of power, prestige, protection, and spiritual significance. Over the years, this has been used by noblemen from the military, pharaohs, leaders, and priests. The binding of the main cord of malas, together with the yarn, signifies our connection to the Supreme and Divine being and the inherent oneness of us all.  It also symbolizes the fourth state of Turiya or pure consciousness, the wearer’s dream to cultivate Prana or life force energy and one’s dream Moksha or liberation.

What does a Mala Tassel Do?

The major function of the tassel is to link the mala’s cord at the end of the guru bead and hide the end knot of the stringed material. The right mala bead tassel must be created at the final stage of the mala’s creation to ensure the cord is safely tucked to the final knot.

Spiritual and Physical Symbolism of Tassels

White- The white tassel symbolizes innocence, purity, goodness, and light. This activates the seventh (7th) chakra the ‘Sahasrara’. The color embodies harmony, perfection, consciousness, simplicity, divination and balance.

Black- The black color exudes elegance, mystery, power, and formality. The color embodies death, mourning, mystery, secrecy, protection, and transformation.

Red- Power, passion, sexuality, love, and desire are symbolized by a Red Tassel. This color activates the first chakra ‘Muladhara.’ The color embodies energizing, strengthening, stimulating, and warming.

Yellow- The color yellow symbolizes self-esteem, willfulness, energy, and personal power. The color embodies awakening, energizing, confidence, cheerfulness, and vitality. It activates the third chakra ‘Manipura.’

Green- The green color elicits universal love, growth, harmony, fertility, freshness, and compassion. This activates the fourth chakra known as ‘Anahata.’ The color embodies soothing, rejuvenating, cleansing, and calming.

Blue- Blue is a symbol for inspiration, expression, peace, trust, loyalty, faith and communication. The color embodies tranquillity, cooling, sincerity, patience, and understanding. This activates the fifth chakra ‘Vissudha.’

Purple- The color purple ushers insight, higher wisdom, knowledge, power, intuition, luxury, and nobility. The color embodies detoxification, meditation, contemplation, inspiration, and transformation.

Tassels have always been the symbol of nobility, power and prestige. The word ‘Tassel’ was derived from the Latin word ‘Tassau,’ which means a clasp at the neck of a garment or clothing. They are believed to ward off danger and lurking evil spirits, the very reason why military men and ancient priests as talisman.

The Egyptian pharaoh Tutankhamun was discovered later on, in his deathbed and tomb wearing tassels over his neck. Then and now, tassels have been believed to be effective, helpful, and significant to one’s everyday life.

Tiny Devotions offers a good selection of Tassel Malas for various intentions and  devotions. Do check them out!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By browsing this website, you agree to our use of cookies. We will never sell or share information. Accept More info

Tiny Devotions